Mayor of London
The Mayor of London is based at City Hall, which sits on the Thames near Tower Bridge.
07 April 2011 12:00 AM

Mayor of London

07 April 2011

What is the Mayor of London?

The role of the Mayor of London was created under the Greater London Authority Act 1999 as part of the then Labour government’s commitment to restore a city-wide government for London.

The Greater London Authority (GLA) comprises a directly elected Mayor and a separately elected London Assembly consisting of 25 members. The Mayor and Assembly are elected for a fixed term of four years. The first elections were held in May 2000 and the GLA began work in July of that year.

Former Labour MP Ken Livingstone was elected Mayor on May 4th 2000. Having been rejected as the Labour party’s candidate, he ran as an independent and was subsequently expelled from the party.

Mayor of London

The Mayor of London is based at City Hall, which sits on the Thames near Tower Bridge.

He was re-elected for a second term on June 10th 2004, this time as the official Labour candidate having been re-admitted to the party shortly before the election. He stood again as the official Labour candidate in the May 2008 elections, but was pipped to the post by the Conservative candidate Boris Johnson, who was re-elected to serve for a second term in May 2012.

Having returned to Parliament in 2015 for the London constituency of Uxbridge, Mr Johnson stood down as London Mayor in 2016.

Sadiq Khan stood for the Labour Party in 2016, and was elected London Mayor with 56% of the vote.

With the mayor elections having been delayed one year in 2020 as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, Sadiq Khan was re-elected in 2021 with 55.2% of the vote (a 1.6% reduction on his 2016 vote share).

What does the Mayor of London do?

The Mayor of London, together with the London Assembly members, is accountable for the strategic government of Greater London.

This includes responsibility for transport, police, civil defence and fire services, planning, economic development and wealth creation, social development and the improvement of the environment. The Mayor also has a number of duties in relation to culture and tourism including responsibility for Trafalgar Square and Parliament Square.

Next article

Related articles