©UK Parliament/Maria Unger

Mapped: All the MPs standing down at the next election as total hits 100

100 MPs have now said they will stand down at the next general election.

Out of the 100 MPs who have announced they will not fight their seats at the next election — which must take place by January 2025 — 64 of them are Conservatives.

Politics.co.uk, together with the political mapping platform Polimapper, has visualised the status of MPs representing seats fought in the 2019 general election.

Use the search bar or double-click on the map below to find out more information about the status of a constituency’s MP — be they whipless, standing down, deselected or standing again at the next election.

View the map in full by following this link.

The most recent MP to announce they will be standing down is Tim Loughton, a former education minister, who has been the Conservative MP for East Worthing and Shoreham constituency since 1997.

Other high-profile Conservatives leaving parliament at the next election include Theresa May, the former prime minister; two former chancellors, Kwasi Kwarteng and Sajid Javid; former deputy PM and foreign secretary Dominic Raab; former defence secretary Ben Wallace; and Alok Sharma, the former Cop26 president.

However, while the Conservatives account for the largest number of MPs standing down, they will not be the party with the highest proportional turnover at the next election. 

Nine SNP MPs (more than a fifth of the parliamentary party) plan to stand down at the next election — including former Westminster leader, Ian Blackford, and Mhairi Black, the party’s current deputy leader in Westminster. 

Black was once parliament’s youngest MP and is still in her 20s. 

The Green Party’s sole MP, Caroline Lucas, has said she will not stand in the next election — as has Hywel Williams, one of only three Plaid Cymru MPs. 

Six independents will also stand down at the next election. Four — Matt Hancock, Crispin Blunt, Bob Stewart and Julian Knight — were Conservatives before they had the whip withdrawn. The two others, Conor McGinn and Nick Brown, were previously Labour MPs.

Two Sinn Fein MPs, namely Mickey Brady and Francie Molloy, will also not contest the next election. 

Comparatively, 17 Labour MPs have announced they will stand down at the next election — among whom are Harriet Harman, the longest serving female MP; Margaret Beckett, the former foreign secretary; and Ben Bradshaw, the former culture secretary.

Polimapper is owned by Senate Media Ltd, the political publishing company that also owns Politics.co.uk.

Polimapper’s Candidate Connect product contains nearly 1,800 candidates in total, each with contact information, a brief professional biography, and a swing bracket to provide an indication of their chances of winning their seat.