General election 2010: Last seat goes to the Tories

By staff

The Tories easily retained the seat of Thirsk and Malton as the last result of the general election finally came in.

The race saw the government’s coalition partners pitted against each other, but Tory candidate Anne McIntosh won the delayed fight with 20,167 votes.

Lib Dem candidate Howard Keal came second with 8,886 while Labour’s Jonathan Roberts came third with 5,169.

The race was delayed from election night following the death of Ukip candidate John Boakes.

It was the first time voters had had the opportunity to watch the coalition partners fight an election race while working together in Westminster.

The Tories had been expected to hold the safe seat, and the majority was in line with expectation, but the strong showing for the Lib Dems shows the party’s core vote is not deserting it in protest at its pact with the Conservatives.

“I’m delighted with the result. It’s very humbling to have received the support of so many people,” said Ms McIntosh, who was environment minister in the last parliament.

Toby Horton, brought in as Ukip candidate, came fourth, polling 2,502 votes.