Caroline Lucas is standing for parliament in Brighton Pavilion
06 April 2011 12:00 AM

Caroline Lucas

06 April 2011


The only green party MP, Caroline Lucas claims to have been politically awoken by the Falklands War in 1982, the issue of nuclear weapons, and Jonathon Porritt’s book ‘Seeing Green‘.

Caroline Lucas joined the Green Party in 1986. From 1987-89, Lucas served as the Party’s National Press Officer and then Co-Chair (1989-90). In 1993, Lucas won the Green Party‘s second-ever council seat.

Elected under a proportional representation system, Lucas then became one of the Party’s first Members of the European Parliament in 1999. Lucas served as an MEP for 11 years until the 2010 General Election when she then became Parliament’s first Green Party MP.

Lucas has served as the Green Party‘s Leader (2008-2012), Co-leader (2016-2018) and Principal Speaker (2003-2006, 2007-2008).

Caroline Lucas

Caroline Lucas MP, is the Green Party’s only MP

Political Career

While studying for her PhD in 1986, Lucas happened upon Jonathon Porritt’s environmental manifesto, ‘Seeing Green‘. Lucas said later of her experience with the book: ‘it was one of those books that completely change your life within the space of time it takes to read 250 pages’.

After winning a seat on Oxfordshire County Council for the Greens in 1993, Lucas stood as a Green candidate for the South East region of England at the 1999 European elections. As an MEP for South East England, Lucas was a member of the European Parliament’s Committee for Trade, Industry, Energy and Research; the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Policy; the Committee on International Trade; and the Temporary Committee on Climate Change.

Lucas successfully stood for the constituency of Brighton Pavilion at the 2010 General Election, becoming the Green Party‘s first ever MP.

Lucas has won many awards for her work as an MP, including: being named the ‘Most Influential MP’ in 2012 by the Political Studies Association; ‘MP of the Year’; and ‘Newcomer of the Year’ in the Spectator’s 2010 Parliamentarian awards.

Next article

Related articles