Tuesday evening’s announcements that health secretary Sajid Javid, and chancellor Rishi Sunak quit the cabinet have since been followed by a string of other resignations.

As it stands, the total tally of resignations is 59.

This includes:

  1. Rishi Sunak – chancellor
  2. Sajid Javid – health secretary
  3. Bin Afolami – vice chair
  4. Simon Hart- Welsh secretary
  5. Brandon Lewis- Northern Ireland secretary
  6. Jo Churchill – health minister
  7. Kemi Badenoch – minister, LHUC and equalities
  8. Helen Whately- arts minister, care minister & exchequer to the Treasury
  9. Rachel Maclean- safeguarding minister
  10. Mims Davies –  Parliamentary under-secretary, employment
  11. Neil O’Brien – Parliamentary under secretary, LHUC
  12. Alex Burghart – Parliamentary under-secretary, apprenticeships and skills (he previously served as Boris Johnson’s PPS)
  13. Lee Rowley – Parliamentary under-secretary, business and industry
  14. Ed Argar- health minister
  15. Julia Lopez – media minister
  16. Will Quince – minister for children and families
  17. Robin Walker – minister of state for school standards
  18. Stuart Andrew – housing minister
  19. George Freeman- science minister
  20. Damian Hinds- security minister
  21. Guy Opperman- DWP minister
  22. Mike Freer – minister for exports, minister for equality
  23. Alex Chalk – solicitor general
  24. John Glen – economic secretary to the Treasury
  25. Victoria Atkins – justice minister
  26. Peter Gibson- PPS to the party chair
  27. Saqib Bhatti – PPS at the DHSC
  28. Jonathan Gullis – PPS to the SoS for Northern Ireland
  29. Nicola Richards – PPS, Transport
  30. Virginia Crosbie – PPS, Welsh Office
  31. Felicity Buchan – PPS, BEIS
  32. Selaine Saxby – PPS, DEFRA
  33. Duncan Baker – PPS, DHLUC
  34. Craig Williams – PPS, Treasury
  35. Mark Fletcher – PPS, business
  36. Mark Logan – PPS, Northern Ireland
  37. Laura Trott – PPS, transport
  38. Sara Britcliffe – PPS, education
  39. David Johnston- PPS, education
  40. Ruth Edwards- PPS, Scotland Office
  41. Fay Jones- PPS to the Leader of the House of Commons
  42. Dr Andrew Murrison – trade envoy to Morocco
  43. Theo Clarke – trade envoy to Kenya
  44. Gareth Davies- PPS, Health
  45. James Davies- PPS, Health
  46. James Sunderland- PPS, DEFRA
  47. Danny Kruger- PPS, LHUC
  48. James Daly- PPS, DWP
  49. Jacob Young- PPS, Levelling Up
  50. David Mundell- trade envoy to New Zealand
  51. David Duguid- trade envoy to Angola and Zambia
  52. Michelle Donelan- education secretary 
  53. Richard Graham- trade envoy to the Philippines
  54. James Cartlidge- courts’ minister.
  55. Dr Caroline Johnson-vice chair
  56. Rebecca Pow- environment minister

Chancellor Nadhim Zahawi and defence secretary Ben Wallace have withdrawn their support for the prime minister, but have not resigned.

However the government are currently 60 down, after the PM sacked Michael Gove as levelling up, housing & communities secretary yesterday evening.

More to follow