Plaid AMs join Morgan’s Cabinet

The Labour – Plaid Cymru coalition government has been formalised, with three Plaid Cymru AMs invited into the Welsh Cabinet.

First minister Rhodri Morgan named Plaid Cymru leader Ieuan Wyn Jones economy and transport minister. He will also serve as Mr Morgan’s deputy minister.

Plaid AM Elin Jones was also named rural affairs minister and Rhodri Glyn Thomas will take responsibility for heritage.

The original seven Labour AMs, named as ministers after the May assembly election, retain their positions but their portfolios have changed.

However, Huw Lewis, the Labour AM for Merthyr, has lost his position as deputy minister for the economy and transport.

He has been replaced at the Cabinet table by Plaid AM Jocelyn Davies, who becomes deputy minister for housing.

Mr Morgan said the Cabinet was a balanced team of Labour and Plaid and marks “the start of a new era of strength in partnership”.

The first minister promised to deliver the One Wales manifesto, and “meet the challenge of making our nation a better place to live and work”.

Cabinet in full:

  • First minister – Rhodri Morgan
  • Deputy first minister, and economy and transport – Ieuan Wyn Jones
  • Finance and public service delivery – Andrew Davies
  • Social justice and local government – Brian Gibbons
  • Health and social services – Edwina Hart
  • Education, children and young people – Jane Hutt
  • Sustainability and housing – Jane Davidson
  • Rural affairs – Elin Jones
  • Heritage – Rhodri Glyn Thomas
  • Counsel general, leader of the house and assembly business and communications – Carwyn Jones