Iain Stewart elected chair of the transport committee

Iain Stewart has been appointed as the new chair of the Transport Select Committee.

The MP for Milton Keynes South takes over the position, which was left vacant when Huw Merriman, the new rail minister, was appointed to his new post.

Six candidates were nominated for the role of Chair, triggering an election between:

  • Jack Brereton
  • Jackie Doyle-Price
  • Katherine Fletcher
  • Chris Loder
  • Karl McCartney
  • Iain Stewart

Mr Stewart has commented on his appointment, saying: “I am delighted to have been entrusted by the House to chair this vital committee and thank all who supported me.

“I have a real passion for, and experience in, transport issues and I am very much looking forward to working with colleagues on the committee to complete the existing programme of work and establish fresh inquiries.

“I want the committee both to scrutinise and hold to account government, agencies and operators, but also to do important horizon-scanning proactive work into future opportunities and challenges.