Welsh Government – Composition

The Welsh Government is made up of the First Minister and eight Welsh Ministers. The composition of the current Welsh government is detailed here.

Welsh Independence

An overview of the political debate around Welsh independence, covering its history, and its current levels of support.

West, Catherine

Labour MP for Hornsey and Wood Green. Australian social worker, who moved to the UK in her early thirties. Former Leader of Islington Council. Quaker who speaks 5 languages including Mandarin. Opposed to Trident.

Western, Matt

Labour MP for Warwick and Leamington. Former senior executive with Peugeot who is a keen cyclist. Former Warwickshire County Councillor, Arsenal Fan.

Westminster Hall

In the early part of the Twenty First Century, the time available on the main floor of the House of Commons for so called Private Members debates had become curtailed. This led to the development of the Westminster Hall format.


An overview of the political issue of whaling, current practices around the world, international and domestic opposition, and the ongoing debate around the practice.

Whately, Helen

Helen Whately served as the Minister of State for Social Care during the coronavirus pandemic. Tipped for the Cabinet, Whately is a keen horse rider, and was once a member of the British Junior Eventing Squad.

Wheeler, Heather

Heather Wheeler, Conservative MP for South Derbyshire

White Paper

White Papers are detailed statements of Government policy, which set the broad principles for legislation, although not all White Papers lead to new laws.

Whitehead, Alan

Alan Whitehead, Labour MP for Southampton Test

Whitford, Philippa

SNP MP for Ayrshire Central. SNP Health spokesperson. Consultant Breast Surgeon. Former Labour party member who left the party over the Gulf War. Worked as a medical volunteer in a Gaza hospital.

Whitley, Mick

Mick Whitley is‌ ‌the Labour ‌MP‌ ‌for Birkenhead‌,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in 2019 ‌with‌ ‌a‌ ‌majority‌ ‌of‌ 17,705. A former ship building area, the Merseyside seat of Birkenhead has been represented by the Labour Party ever since 1945.  It was formerly held by Frank Field for forty years between 1979 and 2019. ...

Whittaker, Craig

Craig Whittaker, Conservative MP for Calder Valley

Whittingdale, John

John Whittingdale, Conservative MP for Maldon

Whittome, Nadia

Nadia Whittome is‌ ‌the Labour‌ ‌MP‌ ‌for Nottingham East‌,‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌  2019 with‌ ‌a‌ ‌majority‌ ‌of‌ 17,393 ‌over‌ ‌the Conservative‌ ‌Party. Nottingham East is the most deprived and ethnically diverse of the Nottingham constituencies, with a sixth of the electorate said to be of Asian descent and a tenth being black...

Widdecombe, Ann

Once the Conservative Party's Shadow Home Secretary, Widdecombe became an MEP for the Brexit Party in 2019. A star of Strictly Come Dancing, Widdecombe has also written an agony aunt column and starred in Panto.

Wiggin, Bill

Bill Wiggin, Conservative MP for North Herefordshire

Wild, James

James Wild is‌ ‌the‌ Conservative MP‌ ‌for‌ North West Norfolk‌,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌ 2019 with a majority of 19,922. The North West Norfolk constituency ‌is‌ ‌very rural and spreads eastwards from the Wash, to include the towns of Kings Lynn and Hunstanton.  The royal estate at Sandringham is located within this...

William McCrea

William McCrea, MP for South Antrim, Democratic Unionist Party