Villiers, Theresa

Theresa Villiers, Conservative MP for Chipping Barnet

Vincent Cable

Twickenham, Liberal Democrats


An overview of the political issue of vivisection. The history of animal testing in the UK, the current legislative framework, and the various arguments deployed in relation to the issue.

Voting (Wales)

Voting in the Assembly is electronic and AMs can choose to abstain instead of voting for or against a motion. As voting is almost instantaneous, the opinion of the Assembly is frequently tested and unanimous outcomes are not uncommon.

Voting Age

At what age can you vote? The headline voting age in the United Kingdom is 18. This is the age that people become eligible to vote in a UK Parliamentary Election. In England and Northern Ireland, this minimum voting age of 18, applies to all elections. In Scotland, the voting age for local and Scottish...

Voting and Decision Time (Scotland)

Voting in the parliament is electronic and almost instantaneous. MSPs can choose to abstain instead of voting for or against a motion. Voting normally takes place at decision time, which is usually at 5pm on days when the parliament is in plenary but it can be brought forward by a special motion if necessary. Votes...

Voting in the House of Lords

Voting the House of Lords is a physical process. When a vote - or 'division' - is called Peers literally divide into two groups, those in favour (Contents) and those against (Not-Contents).

Voting Systems and Electoral Reform

Proportional Representation (PR) is the principle behind a number of electoral systems, all of which attempt to ensure that the outcome of the election reflects the proportion of support gained by each competing group.

Wakeford, Christian

Christian Wakeford is the Conservative MP for Bury South, having gained the seat from Labour in the 2019 General Election with a majority of just 402. Bury South is known as having one of the largest Jewish populations of any seat outside London, and contains the southern edge of Bury and then the former mill...

Walker, Charles

Chris Walker, Conservative MP for Broxbourne

Walker, Robin

Robin Walker, Conservative MP for Worcester

Wallace, Ben

Ben Wallace, Conservative MP for Wyre and Preston North

Wallis, Jamie

Jamie Wallis is‌ ‌the‌ Welsh Conservative ‌MP‌ ‌for Bridgend‌‌,‌ ‌having‌ ‌gained the seat from Labour in 2019 with a majority of 1,157. The Bridgend constituency ‌is‌ ‌found‌ ‌towards the south of the county‌ ‌of Glamorgan‌ ‌along the M4. It covers the Welsh towns of Bridgend and the seaside resort of Porthcawl‌.   The local electorate was...

Warburton, David

David Warburton, Conservative MP for Somerton and Frome

Watling, Giles

Giles Watling is‌ ‌the Conservative‌ MP‌ ‌for Clacton‌,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌ 2017, being reelected in 2019 with a majority of 24,702. The Clacton constituency is found on the coast in the north eastern corner of Essex along the Tendring peninsular.  It incorporates the coastal towns of Clacton, Frinton on the Sea,...

Watson, Tom

Having served as Deputy Leader of the Labour Party between 2015 and 2019, Watson stood down from Parliament just a few weeks before his seat was gained by the Conservatives in 2019. Now a gym enthusiast, he still retains his love of music and video games.

Webb, Suzanne

Suzanne Webb is‌ ‌the Conservative‌ MP‌ ‌for‌ Stourbridge,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌ 2019 with‌ ‌a‌ ‌majority‌ ‌of‌ 13,571 ‌over‌ ‌the‌ Labour ‌Party.‌ ‌ The Stourbridge constituency‌ in the West Midlands covers‌ the towns of Stourbridge, Amblecote, Quarry Bank, in an compact urban area to the south of Dudley.   Although the seat was held...

Webbe, Claudia

Claudia Webbe was elected as the Labour MP for Leicester East in 2019, winning with a majority of 6,019 over the Conservative Party. Webbe had the Labour whip removed in 2020 after being charged with harassment. Webbe denies, and has said she will vigorously contest, the charges. Leicester East is the most deprived of the...

Weir, Michael

Michael Weir, SNP MP for Angus