Russell Brown

Dumfries and Galloway, Labour

Russell-Moyle, Lloyd

Lloyd Russell-Moyle is‌ ‌the Labour‌ ‌MP‌ ‌for Brighton Kemptown‌, having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌ 2017. The Brighton Kemptown constituency ‌is‌ ‌found‌ ‌within‌ ‌the‌ ‌county‌ ‌of Sussex ‌and‌ ‌covers Brighton‌, Peacehaven and the surrounding area. Lloyd‌‌ ‌was‌ ‌reelected‌ ‌at‌ ‌the‌ ‌2019‌ ‌General‌ ‌Election‌ ‌with‌ ‌a‌ ‌majority‌ ‌of‌ 8,061 over‌ ‌the‌ ‌Conservative Party.‌ ‌ Born‌ ‌on...

Ruth Smeeth

Ruth Smeeth, Labour MP for Stoke-on-Trent North

Rutley, David

David Rutley, Conservative MP for Macclesfield

Sadiq Khan – Profile

Sadiq Khan, Labour MP for Tooting

Salisbury Convention

The Salisbury Convention is a convention that works to ensure that the unelected and appointed House of Lords, cannot unduly block the legislative programme of a democratically elected government in the House of Commons. The convention (sometimes called the ‘Salisbury doctrine’) states that the Lords will not vote down a Bill that seeks to enact...

Sam Gyimah

Sam Gyimah, Conservative MP for East Surrey

Sambrook, Gary

Gary Sambrook is‌ ‌the Conservative‌ MP‌ ‌for‌ Birmingham Northfield,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in‌ 2019. The Birmingham Northfield constituency‌ ‌covers Longbridge and Northfield, both on the outskirts of Birmingham‌. Gary ‌was‌ ‌elected‌ ‌in‌ ‌the‌ ‌2019‌ ‌General‌ ‌Election‌ ‌with‌ ‌a‌ ‌majority‌ ‌of‌ 1,640 over‌ ‌the‌ ‌Labour Party, becoming the first Conservative MP to represent...

Same Sex Marriage

'Gay marriage' is a term used for marriage between two people of the same sex.

Sandbach, Antoinette

Antoinette Sandbach, Conservative MP for Eddisbury

Sandra Osborne

Sandra Osborne, MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock, Labour

Sarah Newton

Sarah Newton, Conservative MP for Truro and Falmouth

Sarah Teather

Brent Central, Liberal Democrats

Saville Roberts, Liz

Liz Saville Roberts, Plaid Cymru MP for Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Saxby, Selaine

Selanie Saxby is‌ ‌the Conservative‌ MP‌ ‌for‌ North Devon‌,‌ ‌having‌ ‌first‌ ‌been‌ ‌elected‌ ‌to‌ ‌Parliament‌ ‌in 2019‌ with a majority of 14,813 ‌over‌ ‌the‌ Liberal Democrats. The North Devon constituency‌ ‌is‌ ‌found‌ ‌within‌ ‌the‌ ‌county‌ ‌of Devon‌ ‌and‌ ‌covers Barnstaple and Ilfracombe and the surrounding area‌. Born‌ ‌on the 25th of November 1970‌, Selanie‌ studied...

School Testing Regime

School pupils in the UK are subjected to extensive testing throughout their school careers under the terms of the National Curriculum.

Scottish Government – Composition

Overview The Scottish Government is made up of the first minister, Cabinet Secretary’s, junior Scottish Ministers below Cabinet level, and two law officers (the lord advocate and the solicitor general). The current Scottish Cabinet is formed by the Scottish National Party and comprises: First Minister – Nicola Sturgeon Deputy First Minister and Secretary for Education...

Scottish Independence

Overview Proponents of Scottish independence support the political movement for Scotland to become a sovereign state, one that is independent from the rest of the United Kingdom. Historically, Scotland was an independent country until the 1707 Acts of Union united Scotland with England and Wales in the Kingdom of Great Britain. The rising call for...

Scottish National Party

Overview The Scottish National Party (also known as the SNP, Pàrtaidh Nàiseanta na h-Alba, or Scottis Naitional Pairtie), is a nationalist party that sits on the left of the political spectrum. It is currently the largest party in Scotland and has been in government in the Scottish Parliament continuously since 2007. 21st Century – The...