Humanism in Parliament

All Party Parliamentary Humanist Group

The All Party Parliamentary Humanist Group is a cross-party group of Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords of all three main parties, as well as members from the Crossbenches in the Lords. The Group has grown rapidly, from its first beginnings in the 1960s; in 1996 it had 47 members and it now has over 100. Associate membership of the Group is also open to staff of MPs and peers and staff working for the House of Commons or House of Lords.

The Group is not affiliated to or part of Humanists UK, but Humanists UK does provide the secretariat for the Group.

For more information you can email Pavan Dhaliwal, Humanists UK Head of Public Affairs and the APPHG Administrator.

The Group meets around 4 times a year to hear speakers and discuss relevant issues, as well as to share information and receive briefings on matters of interest. These matters are wide-ranging and include the promotion of a rational approach to bioethical, medical, and scientific issues, the defence of free speech, civil liberties and education.

Chair: Clive Lewis MP (Labour)

Vice Chairs: Crispin Blunt MP (Conservative); Lord Warner of Brockley (non-affiliated)

Co-Chairs: Lord Taverne of Pimlico (Liberal Democrat); Lord Garel-Jones of Watford (Conservative); Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour);  Baroness Flather of Windsor and Maidenhead (Crossbencher)

Secretary: Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)

Treasurer: Lord Dubs of Battersea (Labour)