Opinion Former Article

QC awarded Honorary Fellowship

The Chartered Institute of Taxation (CIOT) congratulates the latest recipient of a CIOT Honorary Fellowship.

Graham Aaronson QC was awarded an Honorary Fellowship at the Institute’s President’s Luncheon, held at Merchant Taylors' Hall, London, today (Tuesday).

Aaronson receives the award in recognition of his contribution to tax policy and administration, as well as his lengthy and impressive tax litigation career. He is one of the leading tax QCs, and has argued many of the highest profile tax cases, including BMBF v Mawson (a landmark case in the application to tax law of the modern ‘purposive’ approach to statutory construction).

In 2010 he was commissioned by the government to lead a study into tackling tax avoidance which recommended the creation of a General Anti-Abuse Rule (GAAR). The GAAR, based on his draft legislation, was brought into law in Finance Act 2013. He then served as chairman of the Interim Advisory Panel for the GAAR, which produced the guidelines for the GAAR’s operations.

Aaronson is a former Chairman of both the Revenue Bar Association, between 1995 and 1998, and the IFS’s Tax Law Review Committee, from 1994 to 1997.
Notes for editors:

1. Graham Aaronson QC is a founder partner of Joseph Hage Aaronson LLP. Having first practised in commercial law, he specialised in tax law and moved to Pump Court. While at Pump Court he dealt with all aspects of UK tax law, with emphasis on tax litigation. As a QC, Aaronson specialised in commercial taxation, with sub-specialties in transfer pricing, oil and gas taxation, life assurance office taxation, structured finance, EU tax law and State Aid. He has advised or represented some major corporations conducting business in the UK, appearing in many landmark cases such as BMBF v Mawson. Aaronson was a pioneer in exploring the application of EU law to the UK corporation tax regime in the ground-breaking Hoechst case, and since then has been the lead counsel in most of the EU law-based group litigation actions dealing with corporation tax.

2. CIOT Hon Fellowships – full list
The Rt Hon Lord Rees  1966
Lord Mackay Of Clashfern  1981
Sir Stephen Oliver QC  1996
Sir Anthony Battishill GCB  1997
Dame Valerie Strachan DCB  1998
Mr D Brodie  1999
Rt Hon Lord Howe of Aberavon CH QC  2000
Dr J F Avery Jones CBE  2001
Mr R J Ison ATT  2002
Professor H Hamaekers  2004
Mr R L Jennings ATT  2004
Rt Hon The Lord Hoffmann  2005
Rt Hon The Lord Lawson of Blaby PC  2006
Mr B W Sutherland CBE FCA  2006
Paddy Millard 2007
Sir Andrew Park  2007
Prof. John Tiley  2008
David Milne QC 2008
Rt Hon The Lord Healey  2009
John Kay 2009
Leonard Beighton CB  2010
Robert A Dommett   2010
Robert (Bob) Davies   2013
Prof Judith Freedman CBE  2014
Dame Fiona & Nicholas Woolf  2014
Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke MP 2015
Stephen Banyard  2016
Judge Howard Nowlan 2016
Paul Johnson, 2017
Professor Michael Devereux, 2017
Graham Aaronson QC, 2018

Generally Honorary Fellowships have been presented at the CIOT President’s Luncheon in the January of the year following the year of award

3. The Chartered Institute of Taxation (CIOT)

The CIOT is the leading professional body in the United Kingdom concerned solely with taxation. The CIOT is an educational charity, promoting education and study of the administration and practice of taxation. One of our key aims is to work for a better, more efficient, tax system for all affected by it – taxpayers, their advisers and the authorities. The CIOT’s work covers all aspects of taxation, including direct and indirect taxes and duties. Through our Low Incomes Tax Reform Group (LITRG), the CIOT has a particular focus on improving the tax system, including tax credits and benefits, for the unrepresented taxpayer.

The CIOT draws on our members’ experience in private practice, commerce and industry, government and academia to improve tax administration and propose and explain how tax policy objectives can most effectively be achieved. We also link to, and draw on, similar leading professional tax bodies in other countries. The CIOT’s comments and recommendations on tax issues are made in line with our charitable objectives: we are politically neutral in our work.

The CIOT’s 18,000 members have the practising title of ‘Chartered Tax Adviser’ and the designatory letters ‘CTA’, to represent the leading tax qualification.
Contact: Hamant Verma, External Relations Officer, 0207 340 2702 HVerma@ciot.org.uk

More Articles by Chartered Institute of Taxation (CIOT) ...

Disclaimer: Press releases published on this page are from key opinion formers who promote their organisation's activities by subscribing to a campaign site within politics.co.uk. politics.co.uk does not endorse, edit, or attempt to balance the opinions expressed on this page. The content of press releases are wholly the responsibility of the originating company or organisation.


Load in comments