Opinion Former Article

BASC Ladies Star of Shooting winner announced

BASC is pleased to announce Emma Norbury-Perrott as the winner of the BASC Ladies Shooting ‘Star of Shooting Award’ for 2019.

As the founder of the Ladies Rifle Club, Emma was nominated for her passion, dedication and hard work in introducing women to rifle shooting and deer stalking.

Those nominating Emma highlighted the lack of opportunities for women in the UK to get a chance to try rifle shooting in a safe and friendly environment. The Ladies Rifle Club has created an opening for opportunities and 2020 will bring more events throughout the UK.

On being announced as winner, Cotswold-based Emma said: “It really is both a surprise and an honour to win this award, particularly as the other fantastic nominees are so deserving of recognition.

“Thank you to BASC and thank you to those who nominated me.

“There has been such an overwhelming response to the Ladies Rifle Club and it is wonderful seeing so many women gaining experience, confidence and friendships.

“I hope all the ladies realise just how inspirational they are and how proud I am of what they have achieved.

“Well done ladies and a huge thank you, without you the Ladies Rifle Club wouldn’t be possible.”

BASC Ladies Shooting organiser Kathleen O’Connor said: “It’s a difficult task to choose a winner from the outstanding calibre of candidates. Our panel chose Emma as she is empowering women from all backgrounds to share her passion for rifle shooting and conservation. Ladies shooting groups have helped BASC see an increase of over 15 percent of female memberships over the past three years – our largest growing sector.”

Notes to Editors:
The Star of Shooting Award is in its third year and celebrates the work women do in the shooting world to encourage and support others to take up shooting and create shooting opportunities.

The award, along with prizes kindly donated by In the Country Magazine, HiHo Silver, and Maude & Fox, will be presented to Emma at The Game Fair in July.

Previous winners:
2018 – Louise Alford
2017 Lydia Abdelaoui

More Articles by British Association for Shooting and Conservation (BASC) ...

Disclaimer: Press releases published on this page are from key opinion formers who promote their organisation's activities by subscribing to a campaign site within politics.co.uk. politics.co.uk does not endorse, edit, or attempt to balance the opinions expressed on this page. The content of press releases are wholly the responsibility of the originating company or organisation.


Load in comments