John Robertson


John Robertson was re-elected MP for Glasgow North West in May 2010 with a majority of 13,611.

He was first elected to parliament in 2000, at a by-election on 23 November following the death of Donald Dewar, the First Minister of Scotland. He was re-elected at the 2001 election, and after constituency boundaries were redrawn for the 2005 election, he was returned for the larger constituency of Glasgow North West.

Private Parliamentary Secretary at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to the Minister of State ( Middle East), Dr Kim Howells MP (July, 2005-Present)

Member of Select Committee Scottish Affairs (2001-2005)

Member European Scrutiny Select Committee (2001-2005)

Armed Forces Parliamentary Scheme (Army-2003)

Member British-Irish Parliamentary Body (2001-Present)

Chair of apComms (2001-Present) (previously known as the Telecommunications APPG)

Secretary of All Party Parliamentary Music Group (2003-2005)

Chair of All Party Parliamentary Music Group (2005-Present)

Chair All Party Parliamentary Nuclear Energy Group (2005-Present)

Chair All Party Parliamentary Group on Nigeria (2005-Present) (previously known as the Niger Delta APPG)

Chair All Party Parliamentary Group on Angola (July 2007-Present)

Vice Chair Shipbuilding Group (2001-Present)

Vice Chair All Party Parliamentary Group on New Media (2005-Present)

Treasurer of the All Party Parliamentary Scottish Football Group (2003-2007)

Hon Secretary Scottish PLP Group (2003-Present)

Secretary Glasgow Group of MP's (2001-2005)

Scottish Office MP Spokesperson Trade & Industry (2001-2005)


Glasgow North West



Facebook Page

Constituency Address

131 Dalsetter Avenue, Drumchapel, Glasgow, G15 8TE

Facebook Personal


Constituency Tel

0141 944 7298

Date of Birth

17 April 1952




Personal Website

Westminster Address

Westminster Tel

Politics @ Lunch

Friday lunchtime. Your Inbox. It's a date.