The Association



ABOUT US
The Association is the sole representative body of superintending ranks who are members of police forces in England and Wales maintained under section 1 of the Police Act 1996. It is so designated under section 64 of the Act, which provides for recognition by the Secretary of State of bodies representing officers who are not members of the Police Federation.

Today's police staff associations owe their existence to the efforts of individuals who, during the 19th Century and the early years of the 20th Century, fought and often suffered to achieve decent conditions of service. Police officers were denied rights of combination and representation for nearly 100 years. Although their status meant that superintendents generally took no direct part in the sometimes turbulent disputes of those times, government eventually came to recognise the need for all ranks, including the superintendents, to have proper representation

ASSOCIATION OFFICERS

President

Name: Ian Johnston
Rank: Chief Superintendent
Force: Gwent
Email: ian.johnston@policesupers.com

Vice President

Name: Derek Barnett
Rank: Chief Superintendent
Force: Cheshire
Email: derek.barnett@policesupers.com

National Secretary

Name: Pat Stayt
Rank: Chief Superintendent
Force: Wiltshire
Email: pat.stayt@policesupers.com

National Deputy Secretary

Name: Graham Cassidy
Rank: Chief Superintendent
Force: South Yorkshire
Email: graham.cassidy@policesupers.com

Communication Manager

Name: Sarah Gibbons
Rank: Civilian
Force: Pangbourne
Email: sarah.gibbons@policesupers.com

Professional Standards Co-ordinator

Name: Tom Moran
Rank: Civilian
Force: Pangbourne
Email: tom.moran@policesupers.com

Twitter

Join the conversation at #opinion_formers