Labour shadow Cabinet in full

Ed Miliband fills up the seats of his frontbench team
Ed Miliband fills up the seats of his frontbench team

Here's Ed Miliband's new lineup in full, as the Labour leader unveils his first appointed shadow Cabinet:

Leader of the opposition
Ed Miliband

Shadow deputy prime minister, party chair and shadow culture, media and sport secretary
IN: Harriet Harman (promoted from deputy leader and international development portfolios)
OUT: Ivan Lewis (moves to culture, media and sport brief)

Shadow chancellor
Ed Balls

Shadow foreign secretary
Douglas Alexander

Shadow home secretary / shadow women and equalities minister
Yvette Cooper

Shadow justice secretary
Sadiq Khan

Shadow chief whip
Rosie Winterton

Shadow health secretary
IN: Andy Burnham (moves from education portfolio)
OUT: John Healey (leaves shadow Cabinet for family reasons)

Shadow education secretary
IN: Stephen Twigg (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: Andy Burnham (moves to health portfolio)

Shadow business secretary
IN: Chuka Umunna (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: John Denham (leaves shadow Cabinet, becomes Ed Miliband's parliamentary private secretary)

Shadow defence secretary
Jim Murphy MP

Shadow communities and local government secretary
IN: Hilary Benn (from shadow leader of the Commons duties)
OUT: Caroline Flint (moves to energy and climate change portfolio)

Shadow Leader of the House of Commons
IN: Angela Eagle (moves from shadow chief secretary to the Treasury role)
OUT: Hilary Benn (moves to communities and local government portfolio)

Shadow energy and climate change secretary
IN: Caroline Flint (moves from communities and local government portfolio)
OUT: Meg Hillier (leaves shadow Cabinet)

Shadow chief secretary to the Treasury
IN: Rachel Reeves (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: Angela Eagle (moves to shadow leader of the Commons role)

Shadow minister for London and the Olympics
Tessa Jowell MP

Shadow transport secretary
Maria Eagle

Shadow work and pensions secretary
Liam Byrne

Shadow international development secretary
IN: Ivan Lewis (moves from culture, media and sport portfolio)
OUT: Harriet Harman (takes on deputy prime minister and culture, media and sport shadowing duties)

Shadow environment, food and rural affairs secretary
Mary Creagh

Shadow Cabinet Office minister
IN: Jon Trickett (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: Liam Byrne (remains in shadow Cabinet with work and pensions portfolio)

Labour Party Deputy Chair and Campaign Coordinator
Tom Watson MP

Shadow Northern Ireland secretary
IN: Vernon Coaker (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: Shaun Woodward (leaves shadow Cabinet)

Shadow Scottish secretary
IN: Margaret Curran (promoted to shadow Cabinet)
OUT: Ann McKechin (leaves shadow Cabinet)

Shadow Welsh secretary and Chair of the National Policy Forum
Peter Hain MP

Shadow Leader of the House of Lords
Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Lords Chief Whip
Lord Bassam of Brighton

Also attending Shadow Cabinet:

Shadow minister for care and older people
Liz Kendall MP

Shadow minister without portfolio (Cabinet Office)
Michael Dugher MP

Shadow attorney general
Emily Thornberry MP

Shadow minister without portfolio (Cabinet Office)
Lord Stewart Wood 


Load in comments
Politics @ Lunch

Friday lunchtime. Your Inbox. It's a date.